Youngstown native Clarence R. Smith began collecting minerals and rocks in 1959. His collection grew over time to include beautiful and rare specimens from around the world! Smith initially showcased the collection in his personal barn; following his death in 1970, the collection moved to Adamas Jewlery & Gifts in Boardman.
Clarence R. Smith, Jr. generously gifted the collection to Youngstown State University’s Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences. In 2001, the Clarence R. Smith Mineral Museum opened in the atrium of Moser Hall as a source of inspiration and education for the community.